COURT INFORMATION RELEASE



United States District Court

Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division 219 South Dearborn Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604

Release Date: May 17, 2015

Contact: Julie Hodek, Public Information Officer

USDC - NDIL

219 S. Deaborn St., Ste. 2514A

Chicago, IL 60604 (312) 435-5693

SEVENTEENTH ANNUAL AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN PRO BONO AND PUBLIC INTEREST SERVICE

CHICAGO – The United States District Court's Seventeenth Annual Awards for Excellence in Pro Bono and Public Interest Service is scheduled to begin at 1:00 p.m., Wednesday, May 25, 2016, in the James Benton Parsons Memorial Courtroom (2525) of the Everett McKinley Dirksen United States Courthouse at 219 South Dearborn Street in Chicago, Illinois. These awards will honor area attorneys for their contributions in helping people most in need of assistance before the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois. The program is open to all attorneys and those interested in pro bono and public interest law and is free of charge.

This annual ceremony recognizing pro bono and public interest service before the Court is sponsored jointly by the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois and the Chicago Chapter of the Federal Bar Association. **Mark K. Vincent**, the National President of the Federal Bar Association, will be the keynote speaker.

Mark K. Vincent is a 17-year active member of the Federal Bar Association and a Fellow of the FBA Foundation. Mark is also a 24-year veteran of the U.S. Attorney's Office, District of Utah. Mark is a leader in the FBA serving as a Board of Director (2006-2010); vice president for the circuits (Tenth Circuit) (2002-2007); chapter president (2002-2003); and chapter officer/board member (1995-present). Mark has also served as a National Council delegate for the past 13 years.

Mark has broad FBA experience serving as a member of the following FBA Committees: Constitution, Bylaws, Rules, & Resolutions Committee (2010-present); Special Task Force on Meetings (2009-2010); Policy Review Committee (2008-2010); Executive Budget Committee (2009-2010; 2006-2007); Annual Meeting Committee (2008); Chair/Co-Chair, Annual Leadership Training Program for Chapter Presidents-Elect and Sections & Divisions (2001-2006); National Membership Committee (2002-2006); Annual Leadership Training Program Committee (Midyear and Annual meetings (2003-2007); and Executive Budget Committee (2004-2005).

The awards program will also feature written comments and introductions by **Chief Judge Rubén Castillo** and **Judge Matthew F. Kennelly**, President of the Chicago Chapter of the Federal Bar Association.

AWARDS

Awards for "Excellence in Public Interest Service" will be presented to:

John Marshall Law School Veterans Legal Support Center and Clinic

William B. Bruce, Jr., Rachel R. Goldberg, Veena K. Gursahani, Steven J. Horowitz, and Richard F. O'Malley of Sidley Austin LLP

Awards for "Excellence in Pro Bono Service" will be presented to:

David J. Chizewer and **Courtney R. Baron** (formerly) of Goldberg Kohn Ltd.

Phillip A. Brigham of Law Office of Phillip Brigham

Sean M. Hamman of Lake Toback

Marc R. Kadish and Joseph M. Callaghan of Mayer Brown

Jeffrey I. Cummings of Miner, Barnhill & Galland

Andrew Y. Acker, Angelo F. DelMarto, and Michael R. Durkin of Storino, Ramello & Durkin

Hillary August, Jordan C. Blumenthal, and Matthew R. Devine of Jenner & Block

Margaret C. Firnstein of Smith Amundsen, LLC

Tal C. Chaiken, James P. Gaughan, Jr., and Eli J. Litoff of Riley Safer Holmes & Cancila LLP

Michael A. Zuckerman of Jones Day

Larry R. Rogers, Jr. of Powers, Rogers and Smith

Jason A. Frye of Neal, Gerber & Eisenberg LLP

Shaun B. Hawkinson, Hersh H. Mehta, Krista M. Pikus, Kaitlin P. Sheehan, Jeffrey E. Stone, Krista L. Vink Venegas, and Michael W. Weaver of McDermott Will & Emery LLP

Abiman Rajadurai of Littler Mendelson, P.C.

Emily Newhouse Dillingham, Daniel M. Meyers, Eric H. Sussman (formerly), and Zaldwaynaka Scott of Kay Scholer

Sohil M. Shah of Polsinelli PC

The Edwin F. Mandel Legal Aid Clinic of the University of Chicago Law School, Craig B. Futterman, Judith P. Miller, and its volunteer students